Baking

Our Favorite Pancakes


This is for my sister-in-law who has just moved to the US from the UK.  She was asking me for a good pancake recipe.  This is our all time favorite version.  It is from the King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion, one of my favorite cookbooks.  They call it “The Simple But Perfect Pancake”, and it truly is.  Because I work, I usually make the batter the night before.  It keeps well in the refrigerator over night.  I have actually left it a few nights, and it has still been okay.  It is best used the same morning, but my life does not usually lend itself to that.  So, here it is… (Click Simple but Perfect Pancakes for a printable copy)

Ingredients:

2 large eggs

1 1/2 cups (10 ounces) milk

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract  (not the imitation kind, but the true vanilla extract)

3 tablespoons (1 1/2 ounces) butter, melted (I usually use unsalted)

1 1/2 cups (6 1/4 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour (I usually use the King Arthur Flour make)

3/4 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons sugar

I usually start by melting the butter in the microwave, so it is slightly cooled before I add it.

Beat the eggs, milk, and vanilla until light and foamy, about three minutes at high speed of a stand mixer or hand mixer.  Stir in the butter.

Wish the dry ingredients together to evenly distribute the salt, baking powder and sugar.  Gently and quickly mix into the egg and milk mixture.  Let the batter relax while the griddle is heating (or overnight in the refrigerator).  The batter will thicken slightly while resting.

Grease and preheat the griddle.  The griddle is ready if a drop of water will skitter across the surface, evaporating immediately.  If you have an electric griddle (I do not), set the temperature between 325° and 350°F.  Drop 1/4 cupfuls of batter onto the lightly greased griddle.  (I use my cupcake scoop).  Cook on one side until bubbles begin to form and break.*** Then turn the pancake and cook the other side until brown.  Turn over only once, and resist the urge to push down on the pancake with spatula.  you do not want to squish out air, as these are so light and fluffy from the beating of the eggs and milk.

***the pancake is ready to turn when the edges begin to look dry and bubbles form and start to break.

I hope you enjoy them as much as we do, and I hope my sister-in-law enjoys making them, maybe with a little help from my nephew.

Leave a Reply

