Doughs · Every day life · family Time · Indoor Play · OT activities · Paint · Stencils

Perfect Day


What a great snow day it was.  We were all home, even my husband.  The children slept to 7:30, which meant Simon and I got to stay in bed a little later AND have a cup of coffee in quiet.  After everyone was up, I cooked pancakes, bacon, eggs, mushrooms and toast.  It was great having a relaxed breakfast.

Eventually James got to the Wii.  This was a Christmas present, and it is his new passion.  We do limit the amount of time he plays.

Sophia started her day by playing school in the kitchen.

Watching TV

There was some TV watched in the basement.  They were both snuggled into their sleeping bags.

They played with Lego.

After lunch, it was time to clear some snow and play outside.

While my family was outside, I decided to try make stencilled shrits.  I have seen a lot of this on the web.  You use freezer paper to make the stencil.  I cut out a letter about 4.5 inches tall, using my Cricut.  I then ironed the stencil onto an old shirt using a low temperature.

Then I dabbed on some fabric glue for glitter by Tulip.  Then I sprinkled it with fabric glitter also by Tulip.  I used my finger to spread it around and pat it down.

After a few minutes I carefully pulled up the freezer paper.  Then let it dry for two hours.  Now I have to wait 72 hours to wash it.  I hope it washes alright.

I also made one for James using metallic fabric paint.

I will let you know what they are like after I wash them.

After Sophia came back in and warmed up, she put her summer dress back on and made birthday cakes and cookies for my pretend birthday.  This was some home-made play dough I had in the fridge from Christmas.

She did this for hours while James eventually came in and went back to playing Mario on the Wii.

Before long, James was also playing with the dough.  It amazed me how he played with the flour.  He usually does not like getting things on his hands.

Then we ended our day with shaving cream.

For someone who does not like getting messy, James has always loved mud and shaving cream.

Shaving cream is a fun sensory way of practicing handwriting, too.

Leave a Reply

